Mississippi

Voter Laws and Registration Deadlines

You must:

  • Be a citizen of the United States
  • Have lived in Mississippi and in your county (and city, if applicable) 30 days before the election in which you want to vote
  • Be 18 years old by the time of the general election in which you want to vote
  • Have not been convicted of murder, rape, bribery, theft, arson, obtaining money or goods under false pretense, perjury, forgery, embezzlement, or bigamy, or have had your rights restored as required by law
  • Not have been declared mentally incompetent by a court
  • STRICT PHOTO ID REQUIRED — Gov. Phil Bryant signed photo ID law on May 17, 2012. Enforcement began in August 2013 following Supreme Court’s Voting Rights Act ruling in Shelby County v. Holder on June 25, 2013.
  • NO Early Voting

Registration Deadline: 30 days before the election

State Election Information

State Legislature Page

Court Activity

    News & Commentary